Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

what heighth rib should i get

2K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  slayer 
#1 ·
im new to shooting and just got a browning citori trap and i want to put a higher rib on it but how do i decide what heigth to get
thanks tayler

#2 ·
You may already know this but if you want to put a higher rib on your XT, you will need to have an adjustable comb on the gun. And even with one of Browning's adjustable combs, the height that will remain stable may be a limiting factor in th erib height.

To split hairs, the length of yoru neck might also come into play, With a shorter than average neck length, tom much additional rib height might make it difficult to put your cheek on the comb without loering your gun mount too far.

Your gun mount should involve putting about an inch of the recoil pad above your collarbone.

Rollin

#5 ·
I have bought and sold a number of high rib guns before deciding that I can't shoot them very well. Not sure why. Could be canting, sight picture, etc. Have found that I like to see the end of the barrel in my sight picture, not just the end of the rib. Good idea to borrow one, if you can.
Mark

#8 ·
Camo: lots of people are finding that a taller rib lets them pick up the target faster and see it better. The best and easiest way for you to see how you would like an add on rib for your gun is go to a craft store and buy a few pieces of balsa wood, tape it to your gun. Mount the gun and pick a spot on the wall to swing the gun to as you would a clay target. You can add pin heads if you have to have the beads on it.