1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

WHAT CHOKES SPORTING CLAYS ???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Murphy, Jul 30, 2013.

1. Murphy

Murphy Member

I am new to shooting registered sorting clays events, and am wondering how many shooters use fixed chokes. I have recently seen a Merkel model 200 SC with fixed chokes, (seem to be IC & Mod). The gun feels great upon shouldering the gun. It has 30 in barrels and really feels great but i am wondering if I will regret not having choke tubes to offer me more options on shooting. Should IC and Mod do the job or should I try to use a gun with more optons, (chokes)?

2. Hitapair

Hitapair Active Member

I have CT's and I rarely use anything other than IC & Mod. Gun fit and how it feels to you is more important than CT's IMO. If you are worried about the IC on long shots, use a 1 1/8 oz load.

3. Husky44

Husky44 Active Member

^

Dead on with above..

Don't worry about the fixed chokes, they're perfect..

I use a mod over mod fixed..

4. dshot

dshot Member

Most sporting clay course can be shot with IC and shoot a very good score,Like Hitapair, gun fit is the most impotant thing, using 7&1/2 will tighten up your pattien and a slow burning powder like PB or green dot will help also.

5. Slugo

Slugo Member

currently I use IC/LM in my B725 12 gauge, and IC/IC in my Caesar Guerini 20 gauge. When I first started over 20 years ago, I went with SK/IC, which still works well. I just like a little tighter choke.

6. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

Depends on the course.

7. HTSmith

HTSmith Active Member

In my opinion the IC and Mod is an excellent combination for sporting. I do better spending my time looking at targets than changing choke tubes.

8. 4th. down

4th. down Active Member