Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

What a shame...a club that went in the toilet.

6K views 26 replies 21 participants last post by  dverna 
#1 ·
Tron,
I guess my first question is why serve liquor at a shooting venue? I know there are som expensive clubs around here that do that (Chicago area) but it just dosen't sit right with me. I've been to these palces and drink my ice tea and enjoy the scenery. It's always a shema to watch a nice place go in the trach bin wether it's a shooting venue or a golf course or what ever. I understand your frustration and cna only suggest finding a new place and leave the trah heap behind.

#3 ·
I have the same problem with one of the clubs i belong to. Its not so much a gun club anymore as a bar with shooting available. 50% of the clubs income comes over the bar, with shooting declining as the years go by. Case in point, when I started shooting there about 10 years ago, there was always a couple dozen shooters in the inner club leagues between skeet and trap shooters. A couple years ago, there was maybe 10, now there aren't even enough to hold a league anymore. I sat on the board of that club for 4-5 years, then finally gave up last year and washed my hands of it. Its tough when there are no longer any real volume shooters at the club anymore, and only maybe two dozen (of a membership of 150+) that actually shoot @ all, as well as having a board totaling 13 individuals, of whom only 4 or 5 have even been members for more than 3 years. I have a feeling as people are having to dig deeper and deeper for spare shooting money, the hole in the wall clubs are going to dry up and blow away in the wind, while those who cater to shooters, have good facilities that are well maintained, and have a solid board of directors who are active shooters will be able to weather the storm until better times come.

#5 ·