1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Want to buy a loader - HELP!

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jennylin, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jennylin

jennylin Member

I've been shooting for a couple of years now and finally feel justified in purchasing a loader. I'm trying to gather as much information as possible before I do so will you please tell me what you think about the following brands? MEC, Spolar, RCBS, and Ponsness/Warren?

I want to know it all - the good, the bad, customer service, returns, repairs, etc. Any information you can give me would be great.

Thanks,
    Bill

2. bigclown

bigclown TS Member

MEC - 8567 Grabber: probably the best buy for the dollar; simple, reliable, not as fast as 9000, but with fewer things to go wrong. Can't comment on Spolar, RCBS, or P/W - 'way too expensive for my money to accomplish the same task as my MEC. I have used the same Grabber for 20 years with only 2 broken parts - sizing collet about 12 years ago and a charge bar spring - the original lasted 17 years. Best Regards, Ed

3. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

They are all good tools but there is a large price difference in the machines you mention. I have used a P/W for over 25 years and it has its quirks but turns out a nice shell. I also have an old MEC which costs a lot less but is
    too slow for the volume of shells that I load.

4. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Bill,