1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Walmart 4 pack shells sticking in my Remington 870

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by senior smoke, Oct 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

Hello:
    I shoot a Remington 870 TB and have never had any problems with premium brand shells sticking in my 870. I have been shooting Walmart 4 pack Federals and Winchesters for 15 years. I have never had any problems with these shells until recently. After I fire a shot, I am having a lot of trouble ejecting the hull, where I literally have to put both hands on the forend and forcibly pull back to eject the hull. I have cleaned my gun, oiled it, put grease where it belongs etc. Anyone else having any problems with these type shells? Any ideas? This does not happen with premium federal Gold medals or AA's or STS shells.
    Steve Balistreri

2. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

Steve, sounds like the lot of shells you bought recently were not sized very well and after they were fired are sticking in your chamber!!! I have a friend that is having the same problem with a newer lot of Rio's. Its because of the metal bases these shells have. Steel does not snap back to it original size as well as brass does. This may go away in the next lot of shells or it may not. Is your 870 hanging up with all three right now or just one brand, and if so which one??? Try one of the other brands as well!!! Good Luck and Break-em all. Jeff

3. charlie01

charlie01 TS Member

Steve, I used the winchester shells in my super x1 and had a problem with them ejecting. The federal 4 pack shoots fine and ejects nicely from my super and my 1100. Also the winchester 4 pack shells seemed very dirty. I won't use them at all now. Charlie