1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Wad for Top Guns???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by DecalDude, Jun 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DecalDude

DecalDude Active Member

I have been loading Rem hulls since I started shooting useing the orange Clay busters but due to availiblity Rem hulls, I am going to change over to Top Guns. I know there is a cardboard base in the Topguns and it is probly in load data but I know you guys are chalked full of info and I will have an answer before I get done loading the last of the hulls and wads I have tonight. I am loading 17.4 grains of promo and 1 1/8oz.

Thanks all!!

Jerry

2. RickN

RickN Well-Known Member

When I load Top Guns I use the Fed 12S-3 wad.

3. BufferBob

BufferBob TS Member

Ditto on 12S3's

4. bigbore613

bigbore613 Active Member

Contact Alliant. Jeff

5. warpspeed

warpspeed Member

6. 1oldtimer

1oldtimer TS Member

Use 1 to 1- 1/2 grains more powder than what you use in the Rems. Try several diff wads to see which gives you a good crimp. Works for me.
    1oldtimer

7. acorange

acorange Well-Known Member

Fed. 12S3 or claybuster clone

8. Recoil Sissy

Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

09newbie:

Older Alliant manuals (mid 90's) have published data for Top Gun hulls using Red Dot and Green Dot. As you're probably aware, Promo is a direct replacement for Red Dot.

Using Top Gun hulls (or paper base wad Estates), 18.5 grains of Promo behind a 12S3 wad pushes 1 1/8 oz. of lead at 1145 fps. With those components you can use a Fed 209A, a Win 209, or a Rem 209P. The chamber pressure varies from 7,500 to 9,500 psi depending on the primer.

Drop me a PM if you're interested in other loads, specific manual references, or a hard copy of the applicable pages.

sissy

9. midalake