1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Unsingle vs. Osingle

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Tommy67, Sep 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tommy67

Tommy67 Member

I am fairly new to trap shooting. I currently use a Browning XT Combo, but primarily shoot singles and handicap. What are the advantages of unsingles versus osingles?

2. Buddy O

Buddy O TS Member

There is less felt recoil with un-singles.

3. widomaker

widomaker TS Member

I think the unsingle has an adjustable rib also.

4. gdbabin

gdbabin TS Member

So do high heels, but they may not FEEL better.

Guy B.

5. Danny56

Danny56 TS Member

gdbabin- Well your not wearing them.... Are you?

6. pendennis

pendennis Well-Known Member

Well, for one thing, you'll look much more like a seasoned AAA trapshooter, when you come to the line with a high-ribbed undersingle. The fear factor alone should be worth two or three extra birds. <:)

Seriously, whether you go with a top- or under -single, it becomes a matter of personal choice. Under singles generally direct recoil a little more straight back, keeping the gun from rising too much. Under singles generally require a monte carlo-type comb, with some adjustments to it. The monte carlo comb moves the butt down further. They also allow for a higher-pointing gun, putting some space betweed the bead and the target. A lot of shooters prefer the target to "float". Again, it's a matter of personal preference.

Although seen more on under-singles, adjustable ribs can be found on top singles, although the amount of adjustment will be somewhat less without other stock modifications.

With your existing XT O/U, you get the benefit of and undersingle when you shoot out of the bottom barrel.