1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Unsingle v. single

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by tsosin, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tsosin

tsosin TS Member

I currently shoot a Browning Citori XT trap and I'm thinking about a new gun. Although I've shot a lot of skeet, I'm new to trap and like the adjustability of an unsingle, but question the additional cost. I'm going to shoot both to get a feel for recoil differences, if any, and would appreciate all of the input that I can get.

Ted Sosin

2. BMC

BMC Member

Ted, I guess I might be on the conservative side, but I think you will find your current XT Trap O/U is more than adequate for trap. My XT shoots just as good of scores as my BT100 does even with several tricked out stuff done to the 100. Of course if price weren't part of the equasion I would surely like to own a single barrel for my XT too.
    Brian.

3. bigclown

bigclown TS Member

Friends that have gone to top/undersingles vs. just the o/u seem to continually have problems "adjusting" the rib, balance, etc. to get it "just right"... Your XT will do it all...use the top barrel with light loads and moderate open choke for 16s and the bottom barrel with a tight choke for handicap. Going this route is the reason for unsingles....recoil comes straight back with heavier loads in the under barrel. Use both barrels for doubles. Same gun, barrels, feel, weight distribution, etc. Trying to get 3 barrels (o/u and single) to shoot to the same place is the big frustration. Think about it and keep it simple. Best Regards, Ed

4. flyfishinfool

flyfishinfool TS Member

Big Tuna - that is EXACTLY what I do. I use my DT10 o/u for everything. I actually sold my top single barrel for that very reason.

Ted - your XT can do it all.

Dan