1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Universal charge bar

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JN618, Feb 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JN618

JN618 TS Member

I'm sure this has been covered, but I'm a newbie. How many of you guys use a universal charge bar and what's your opinion? Do thy function properly? Is it easy to use? The powder drops between certain bushings (MEC) I have are crazy and I was thinking the charge bar would do the trick.

Thanks,

John

2. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

John, I use two Universal bars; on a Grabber and a Hydraulic MEC. I have no problems with them but it DID take a fairly long learning curve to come to a final conclusion how to use them best. I printed my instructions how to shorten the learning curve and many return remarks complained that it was too much fiddling around or that 500 shells could be made just reading my remarks. The instructions were intended for complete beginners and WERE lengthy. If I was faced with the decision today, I just might not convert to adjustable bars and use the MEC bars and bushings as I've aged enough to reject some of my anal behaviors. I certainly will NOT go back now but might not bother were I starting today. Were I you, I'd work real hard making adjustments on your machine and also stroking the action bar exactly the same way each time and see if your "crazy" occurrences don't improve well enough to satisfy you. If, on the other hand, you tend to be suffering from anal behavior, you might want to try the adjustables and contact me for some snail male......Bob Dodd

3. JJJ

JJJ TS Member