1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Unions Yea or Nay?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by Bruce Specht, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bruce Specht

Bruce Specht Well-Known Member

Ok! Let's get a concensus, I belong to a union and I'm an "independent" (Republican)politicaly. Here is my reason for the post, I'm a teacher at a high school not unlike most government entities the district is in financial trouble. I and a couple of other " conservatives" have suggested that the union be open to negotiation due to the current economy. The " one for all and all for one" liberals that are the excutive board won't hear of making simple concessions to help the district reduce debt. These "Democrats" that profess to be all about helping mankind would rather see teachers let go than offer to give up a personal day or two, that would cost the union membership nothing and be helpful in reduicing debt. Keep in mind that as teachers we work 185 days a year. We get three (3) personal days a year, the district pasy our saleries and pasy for a sub for the day. This is abused weekly there are days that we have 15 or more teachers out our faculty is 125. The executive board members of the union that I've approached have responded with ," the board of education won't work with us so screw em, if there are lay offs, I have tenure so I'll be here when the dust clears". The question? what good is the union when they won't use their heads and make concessions that benfit all the members and the students they serve?

2. TOOLMAKER 251

TOOLMAKER 251 Active Member

Why do teachers need unions?

3. Barrelbulge(Fl)

Barrelbulge(Fl) TS Supporters TS Supporters