1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Uhhhh, newbie here

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by neofight, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neofight

neofight TS Member

As my username implies, i am the new kid on the block. Hardly a kid at 68, but a kid at heart and looking
    forward to shooting trap. My neighbor up the hill invited me to shoot a month ago and we've been hitting the range every week since, me shooting with his back-up gun.

I have shot a couple different modeIs, talked with a few guys at the club and read about everything i could find on the web and decided on a new
    Browning Citori XT Trap with the 32" barrels and the adj. comb. I did consider buying a used, but nothing local has shown up and i hesitate to buy used on-line without knowing the seller and even less about firearms in general. The last time a shotgun was in my hands was back in the '50's when i hunted birds with my dad.

The guys at the club have been very helpful and i feel comfy knowing that safety is first. Let's see now, earplugs, snappy looking shooting vest, gun safe, re-loader,powder, shot, hulls, wads, primers and glasses. Yup, that should make a dent in the checkbook.

John Bloom from Brookings, Or.

2. 20yard

20yard TS Member

John,
    Plunge right in, then after a while you'll understand it's not a gun but more likely a second gun for doubles and of course as time passes another new gun will catch your eye. I think about 2 years per gun is a good target. Of course many a trap shooter says i've spent $100,000 on guns and amo in my pursuit, but all the rest of my money was wasted.

3. crusha

crusha TS Member

You've only scraped the dust off the checkbook, believe me.

4. nsguy

nsguy Active Member