1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

UGB25 - Update & Issues

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by UGB25, Dec 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UGB25

UGB25 TS Member

I noticed on Trapshooters.com you were looking for feedback on the Beretta
    UGB25. I just completed my 10 day wait from purchasing the UGB from Able's
    on 12/22/08. I have been shooting trap for about six months now and decided
    to step up to a competition grade gun. I like Beretta's and have been
    shooting my Silver Pigeon IV field gun with good success. I looked an many
    O/U's and decided why not go all out and buy the new UGB25 since it was
    advertised as the ultimate completion gun.

Wow! I'm really disappointed. I now have 400 rounds through the gun and
    can say the breach bolt fork is a bad and cheep design. The gun keeps
    jamming or locking every 20 to 30 rounds. I've called Able's and they
    told me to just make sure I slam the action hard to get the fork to align
    properly. Well that was 250 rounds ago and it's still jamming. I went to
    a local gun smith and he said, after close examination, he thinks the breach
    bold fork design is poor and will give more trouble as it begins to wear or
    break-in. The bottom part of the fork is designed to push the bolt back as
    you press down on the lock with your thumb. The trouble is the fork is make
    of cheep steel and tends to bend or bow under pressure. If you don't slam
    the action closed hard the bottom part of the fork lodges on top of the bolt
    lever and jams. When it jams the fork bends against the trigger housing
    causing the safety to jam in the fire position. You cannot move the safety
    back until you have disassembled the action to un-jam the breach fork. What