1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

two eyes open low hold(any top shooters)

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jrb100, Jan 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrb100

jrb100 Member

I was wondering if any top shooters hold on front lip of house for singles.I seem to jump at alot of targets when I hold above the house.I have been shooting trap for five years and wondering if I should try harder to shoot low gun,so I am more likely to keep the gun still until the target comes out.

thanks,
    joe

2. DTrykow

DTrykow Active Member

I hold at the lip of the house. Sometimes the birds tend to streak past me but not to bad. I've been experimenting with a higher hold. I got some TS videos and a higher hold has peaked my interest. Less gun movement. Dave T.

3. vdt

vdt Active Member

low and slow

4. Capt. Morgan

Capt. Morgan TS Member

The height of the eyes is just as important than the height of the hold. If you ever have the chance to go to one of Harlan Campbell's schools, take it. He will help you learn to keep your vision above the gun in the area where the target becomes "whole and clear". Keeping the eyes above the barrel (and the barrel just above the house) and letting the peripheral vision pick up the target eliminates the "streak" phase and lets the focused vision pick up a clear, distinct shape.

Morgan

5. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member