1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Two Eye - Cross Eye Dominant Shooters

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by njuliano, Aug 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. njuliano

njuliano Member

Has anyone (cross eye dominant) made the switch from either one eye only or dominant eye taped to shooting with BOTH EYES no tape at all ? I am a left handed shooter but, right eye dominant. I started shooting one eye then switched to using tape on the right (dominant) eye and have had very good success with it for about 1-1/2 years now (97 Singles average).
    A few weeks ago I looked down the barrel without any tape on the right side and the left eye (gun shoulder side) lines up with the target perfect. I did see a very slight shadow of the other barrel so I put a 4" blinder on the barrel and the shadow is gone. I shot it that way for about 200 targets and scores varied from 21 - 25 with most around 23. I find I see the target much clearer and sooner plus things are much brighter. I would like to stick with two eyes but, not sure if I will have problems later do the cross eye dominance. When I do the eye dominance check now nothing has changed I am still cross eye dominant.

Questions: I am thinking of switching to both eyes no tape but wanted to get experiences from others out there. Are your scores better with both eyes ? What did you do to make the switch ? How long did it take ? Where there any devices that helped ?

Thanks for any input.

Nick

2. Sam (ATA Noobie)

Sam (ATA Noobie) Member

I did it, but I still have trouble with hard left quartering targets and cross-firing. However, it has worked WONDERS in skeet and sporting clays.

3. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member