1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

True or False on POI and Shell Speed

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Dr.Longshot, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dr.Longshot

Dr.Longshot Banned Banned

We are talking strictly Handicap shooting, preferably from the 27 yard line.

Should you change POI strictly for certain shell speeds?

Do you need a higher POI for 1145fps Vs 1250fps w/same sight picture?

Do you adjust your POI for your shells? And why?

Here is what I have found over the years, I used to shoot only 2 3/4 dram shells on everything from 16yd to Hdcp when I started shooting in 1968, my reload was 18 Grs Green Dot 1 1/8th oz #8s and I strictly loaded AA shells w/
    AA wads.

As I became more profecient of seeing the target and shooting faster, as in before the target peaked, I needed a higher POI.

Now I strictly shot this load for over 20 years, some buddy shooters would not shoot w/me because my shells were too slow.

Green Dot became hard to get, I heard the plant burned down, so I started loading 700-x through the same bushing, that alone changed my load from 1145 to 1200+ fps higher pressures and more felt recoil.

So I changed to RED DOT powder and a #33Mec bushing dropping 18.5 grs now I am still at 1200fps. And I am shooting targets quicker, in otherwards I am seeing them quicker and I am shooting faster, but not as fast as Britt Robinson but quite fast. The higher POI was working OK.

Now I am going to progress another 10 years to 1988 same shells but different powders, Solo 1000 and Solo 1250 used the Solo 1000 for singles and Solo 1250 for Hdcps and first shot in Buddies. This reduced felt recoil and speeds were OK

When I first loaded the Solo 1250 for Hdcps I won a lot more Handicap events