1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Tron and other 391 shooters - Valve cleaning

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dmarbell, Dec 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmarbell

dmarbell Active Member

I recently received a 391 target barrel in trade. Being overly excitable and not particularly maintenance-oriented, I started shooting the gun with this barrel after cursory inspection. After some number of rounds (upwards of a thousand) during which I cleaned the piston and mag cap and rod only, the gun started to have cycling issues.

Turns out the valve (part the piston goes into) might not have ever been cleaned. I have scraped and oiled, used a pick and finishing nail tapped with a hammer to clean the four holes in the valve, used a wire to clean the two holes going into the barrel.

There is still a nice layer of crud inside the valve. I can only see metal in a couple of places.

Is there a cleaner that will work in this residue without harming the metal? Is there a particular tool which works well on cleaning this area?

This is the original Urika model, BTW, not the Urika 2.

The barrel is fine, and is not damaged.

Danny

2. 635 G

635 G Well-Known Member

Try slip 2000, they make a choke & gas valve cleaner--soak the gas valve in it & wash off with water, yes water & lube it well with a good grade of oil or CLP

Lou

3. M R Ducks

M R Ducks Member

Tape over the holes with duct tape and fill the cylider with Break Free. Do this outside, and keep it outside - that stuff is really nasty!

Let it soak overnight - you should be able to make the cylinder shiny and bright.

4. motordoctor

motordoctor Shoji Tabuchi in Branson