1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

TRIGGER PROBLEM OR HAVE I STARTED TO FLINCH???

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by senior smoke, Jul 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i recently purchased a new remington 870 tb made in the 1970's. i shot 2 practice rounds with it today and I either flinched about 5 times, big time, or the trigger is not letting off smoothly? i had another veteran shooter place a snap cap in the gun, and he said the trigger has no creep, and the trigger pull was about 4 lbs. he watched me shoot, and said he thinks i am flinching. my other gun is a browning bps trap, have never flinched with it. i started shooting in 1970, and suddenly i start flinching???? i took the gun to a gunsmith out at the state shoot today at waukesha, he said the trigger pull is 4 lbs. he haD A DIGIITAL TRIGGER PULL GAUGE. HE SAID THE TRIGGER pull IS ONE OF THE BETTER ONES THAT HE HAS SEEN ON THIS MODEL. my normal lop on this model shotgun is 14". the gun 's lop is 14 3/8. i am wondering maybe if the lop is to long, that i might not have my full trigger finger on the trigger like i normally would, and this is causing me to flinch. sometimes when i would pull the trigger, it would not go off on time, and i jerked my swing and the the gun went off. most of the time i had no problem. what do you think? is there something wrong with the trigger, or am i starting to flinch, or is it due to the stock being to long? any help would be appreciated. when i took the trigger out of the gun, it seems to work fine. this is a new gun, never previously fired, made in the 70's.
    steve balistreri

2. Andy44

Andy44 Active Member