1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Traveling gunsmiths and stock guys have my respect

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by schockstrap, Jul 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. schockstrap

schockstrap Active Member

This is probably going to sound a little funny, but I have a new-found respect for all of the guys like Tron, Tom Larkin, Ken Rucker, etc. that offer what I consider a very fast turn-around on gunsmithing and stock work. I decided to add an adjustable comb to my trap guns (primary and backup) in an attempt to get them to fit me better and shoot more alike. I am a hobbyist woodworker, and have thousands of dollars worth of machinery for this kind of stuff, so I decided to tackle the job myself. I didn't think it would be an easy job, but figured once I got over the fear of hacking into my beautiful walnut stock it would be pretty straight-forward. I guess that's not too far off from reality, but the first stock that I did took me roughly 5 hours of work... The actual cutting/install time wasn't nearly that much, but I spent a lot of time figuring out how to keep everything aligned accurately and held firmly while i worked. Then I got to thinking... It probably doesn't take those guys more than an hour or two to do the work, BUT there is still quite a bit of time required for epoxy to set to full strength (8-24 hours usually) and for finish to dry. It's utterly amazing to me that these guys are able to deliver a completed stock by the next day at a shoot, or have it back to you within a week if they ship it to you. They do good work crazy fast, and honestly I don't know how they're able to make a decent living charging what they do.