1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Trapshoot suggestions

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by The Literalist, Feb 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Literalist

The Literalist Well-Known Member

I'm avoiding the much-discussed handicap system which currently prevents anyone from enjoying a shoot, the totally unfair singles classes which allow AAA shooters to clean up the D class, the EC whose only goal is to eliminate the sport, and the other unfair rules which cause thousands of gun men to become Democrats.

Instead, a few simple little things I'd like to see more of. Many a reflection of when I started shooting in 1964:

1. More Saturday shoots. It's nice to have Sunday morning at home.

2. Return to my early shooting days in the 1960s when most shooters wore a name tag or had their name sewn on their shooting vest.

3. Add a long run option for 2-bucks...especially at small shoots. Most would kick in that small amount and on a windy day, breaking the first 17 straight might pay for your shells.

4. Break for 45 minutes between singles and caps to allow a more leisurely lunch.

5. No more 100-to-a-trap. EVER!

6. Have more early (especially early)and late-season 50 bird events, 50-50-50.

7. Jack up the target price a buck and have a free lunch (see #4 above)

8. When possible, shot each 100 on 4 traps.

9. Always have 25, 50, 100 patches on hand. Newer shooters especially like them.

Any merit to these ideas?

2. Rich219

Rich219 Active Member

2. Name tags are lame.

4. The days are long enough as it is. Sign up to shoot early in the morning and on a later squad for the second event.

7. Targets are expensive enough as they are, if you want lunch pay for it yourself.

3. Dave Berlet

Dave Berlet Active Member