1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Trap stock for Remington 870?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by lakota, May 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lakota

lakota TS Member

I just started shooting trap and really enjoy it. I am not able to afford a trap gun right now, but I have a Remington 870 that I thought I could modify to be more competitive. I stumbled across these high comb thumb hole stocks from Boyds and wondered what a more experienced trap shooter would think of them. I've not seen anyone shooting trap with a thumb hole stock yet. I also want to swap the 26" barrel on my gun for a 30". Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
    Scott.

2. Chris

Chris TS Member

Scott:

I built an 870 with a Boyds Thumbhole stock and loved it. I had to install a Graco LOP butt pad because the way they came, the stock was too short for me.

I would do it again but I know if I do I will have some sort of an LOP butt plate added to it.

I also shoot a BT100 thumbhole and I really like it. It isn't for everyone but for me it works.

Chris

3. Phil E

Phil E TS Member

I noticed in their FAQ's they said their stocks are "typically field style models." Will this be a parallel-comb model? Can't tell from the picture. If so, it might work fine for you. I've shot well with a thumbhole stock (on an 11-87), and like them, partly because of years of thumbhole target rifle stocks. I started trap with a field 870 with an add-on vent-rib Rem-choke barrel (28") and it shot great for me; bought a semi-finished Fajen montecarlo stock, fitted & finished it, and was ready to go. Enjoy your 870, a fine gun. Phil E

4. Lkn4rocks

Lkn4rocks TS Member

Here is a thread for Wenig Gun Stocks, finished or unfinshed, your choice & the price is right along with the workmanship.