1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

Trap Shooting Tipping Protocol

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by garagestuff, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garagestuff

garagestuff TS Member

I'm new to Trap Shooting, enjoying every minute of it. Up until last weekend, I always shot at unattended fields. Can someone set me straight with the correct protocol for a club provided scorer? Is tipping the norm? How much?

Thanks
    Jim
  2. Stu Pidash

Stu Pidash TS Member

Do you mean the club had no voice callers and somebody had to manually push the button for you?

If that is the case then its the club that need to take care of them and I have no clue on the whole tipping part of it but it would be nice to see if they would like or have something to drink and just treat them nicely ... and never and I mean never blame them for your lousy shooting, no matter what happens they aint the ones pulling the triggers.
  3. garagestuff

garagestuff TS Member

This club has no voice callers and requires an attendent to manually push the button. I'm too new to the sport to blame anyone...except my bad eye sight.
  4. GBatch_25

GBatch_25 Active Member

Our club hires young folks to score. They are paid. Tipping is voluntary and there is a "Tip Jar" at the sign-up counter. I believe the money in the tip jar is split amongst the scorers. I rarely see more than a few dollars in the jar.
    Gene Batchelar
    Wheaton, IL
  5. whosyourdaddy

whosyourdaddy Member

I always tip the good ones, but never on the line. We shoot in crappy weather because we choose to, they really don't have much choice. Very thoughtful question to ask Jim, welcome to your new addiction.
  6. KEYBEAR

KEYBEAR Active Member