1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Trap shooting question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Jayusmc, Jan 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jayusmc

Jayusmc TS Member

i have been shooting a blaser 12-gauge f-3 unsingle from the 16 yard line. I am shooting in the mid 20's. I have been shooting trap for 9 months. The factory set's the rib at60-40. I seek information from experienced trap shooters if I should adjust the high rib for p.o.I. Or leave it alone and just keep shooting... Old timers have told me that adjustable rib's can drive you crazy if you keep adjusting them in an attempt to improve your score. I would be most thankful to hear from fellow trap shooter's.

2. open choke

open choke TS Member

The comb is the number one to make a POI change. The purpose of an adjustable rib is for when you have a combo set you dial in the o/u with the comb and the use the rib adjustment on the single to get the same POI as the double.

Also if you try an 80/20 pattern you wont have to "cover the target" as much and that should help you out too

3. Shooter R

Shooter R Active Member

A good idea would be to patern test it to see where it is shooting for you. Try adjusting it to a nominal 70/30. Then shoot 10 rounds from station 3, you should be smoke balling them without having to cover the bird. Then try that setting on stations 1 and 5. Unless you are super fast that MAY work for you. If you are fast 80/20 may be better.