1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Trap Doubles - One-eyed shooter needs advice

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by bluedsteel, Aug 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bluedsteel

bluedsteel Member

I would be most grateful for any advice on this. I have been shooting in registered trap events for about two years. I am AA in singles, and doing pretty good in handicap, but not great. I recently started shooting registered doubles. For doubles, I started with a Browning XT (32") but have shifted to a Remington 1100 field model with a 28" barrel, choked modified. The 1100 seems easier to move from target to target, and it points well for me. I am a one-eyed left-eye dominant left-handed shooter (lucky me). I use a flip-down blinder over my right eye, as I have some cross dominance issues.

My question is this: Where should my hold point be for doubles?

If I hold high, as most recommend, I can't see the first bird until it pops out from under my barrel, so my shot is late and frantic. If I hold low, I have to follow the bird up, which takes a bit of time for that first critical shot.

I am struggling, especially on posts 4 and 5 on the second (right hand) bird. Any advice from you doubles pros would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

SJS

2. Easystreet

Easystreet Well-Known Member

I'm definitely not a doubles pro, but I would suggest that you hold just slightly to the side of the path of the first bird. That way, your gun barrel won't block your vision of the bird coming out.

Easystreet

3. blade819

blade819 Well-Known Member