1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Trap Day out

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Customf1, Sep 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Customf1

Customf1 TS Member

Jul 31, 2012
    I am new to trap. When I fist went trap shooting a few months back I bought a used Remington 1187 premier trap. I went for some brief instruction then started shooting, I shot 500 rounds and the best I was able to do was 6-10 hits out of the 25. and maybe 2 or 3 of those were completely dusted. I got frustrated and decided to sell it and actually made a little money on the deal. that gun always felt heavy to me and i never got comfortable with it (sounds like I'm blaming the gun!!). I have since picked up a Mossberg 500 combo that came with a tactical and field barrel. I took the gun out trap shooting using the field barrel and shot 4 rounds my scores were 17 18 18 17 -and I dusted around 10 - no cheating these are real scores!! I actually felt more comfortable with the Mossberg as opposed to the 1187. Its a few lbs lighter as well and I seem less stressed with it at the trap line, maybe thats why I did good? Or maybe it was me who knows? I will keep using my Mossberg to see what happens the next time I go but so far even through its not a true trap gun I am very happy with it. In the future I may interested in a lighter trap gun not sure how many exist. any comments are appreciated. Thanks Howard
  2. Big Jack

Big Jack Well-Known Member

Jan 29, 1998
    Erie, Pa