1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Trap Combo for Trap and Sporting Clays?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by rdf59, Nov 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdf59

rdf59 Member

I am looking at a Guerini Magnus combo 34-30 with a sst factory installed. My hope is to use it for trap and clays with the 30" o/u. It seems as though with both the adjustable rib on the o/u also and the adj comb, it might be a good two sport candidate.

I'm not a pro (obviously) in either area. 88-93 in trap and 58-65 in clays after one year. I do not have a dedicated trap gun -- presently using either a 26" field o/u for trap or, rarely, a Mod 21 Winchester Trap SxS F&F. We shoot at 16 yds in our club shoots up in the mountains in NE Georgia.

2. Cherokee Kid

Cherokee Kid TS Member

Those are really nice guns. Pattern your barrels at 13 yards with the full choke to determine POI. Don't worry about figure 8ing your beads, just put your cheek down on the comb and put the front bead right on you aiming point. Set your single barrel up to shoot 2-3 inchs high at 13 yards for starters by raising your comb with washers. Put on the doubles and see where they shoot. If they are also about 2 inches high, use that setting for doubles or you can take out a washer to flatten them out an inch. Take washers out and shoot the doubles. When you are 0 to 1 inch, you can probably use that setup for clays.

Adjust your ribs to the sight picture you prefer.

Or, you can read the posts which will follow below about using your ribs to adjust your POI and you will spend hours farting around with the ribs and the comb.

3. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member