1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Too much choke???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by st8shuter, Mar 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. st8shuter

st8shuter TS Member

not trying to start a controvesy but, i have a ljutic with a fixed choke of 43 pts. too much? the odd target looks like a skeet bird from low 8 when hit, ( streak of smoke)

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

That is what you are after.

You have a trap gun that is choked the way a trap gun should be.

3. TERRYB

TERRYB Member

When I started shooting trap and money games back in the early '80s I met one of the greatest guys' that I ever had the honor to shoot with. His name was Frank Gurney(sp?)(may God rest his soul) and he was a fireman from Hammond, Indiana.....

He would always tell me; "You can NEVER have to much choke in your gun and you can NEVER have to much shot in your shell"........

Words of wisdom that I still live by today, almost thirty years later......Terry

4. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

I once asked an all American trap shooter what is the ideal choke for 27 yard handicap shooting? He answered, the tightest choke I can find. I then asked him why does he use 7 1/2 size shot? He said because the rules won't allow me to use 7 size shot.
    Steve Balistreri

5. JACK

JACK Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

You guys are silly and out of touch. the newer bbls of .735 to .750 control the shot well and you get fewer flyers and they stay in the pattern. I like center core density hits too, but any choke .030 to .035 is entirely adequate for trap. And that includes 27 yards.The big dogs are not shooting .040, why should you?

6. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Mine is 0.042.