1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Tom Strunk Drag racing?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by Race Artist, Jan 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Race Artist

Race Artist TS Member

Greetings,
    I came across the thread about Tom Strunk's and Hayden Proffitt drag racing. The three photographs and information were quite interesting. I'm a motorsports artist and racing historian. I'd like to communicate with Tom and anyone else that has early sixties S/S-F/X drag racing information, personal racing snapshots and photographs. I maintain research notebooks that I use for my artwork and assisting authors of history on the above subjects.
    Please contact me via private email racenart@optonline.net
    Thank you.
    Joel F. Naprstek
    www.JFNStudios.net

2. whiz-bang

whiz-bang Active Member

Race Artist My dad a owned a AMC car dealership in Minnesota. Back in 1968 when Hayden Proffitt switched to American Motors in order to drive the Grant Rebel SST X/S drag car. Basically a funny car the Grant rebel and Hayden went on tour of 40 cities were it exhibited in American Motors showrooms between races.

I have a picture of Hayden Proffitt wearing his fire suit and displaying his helmet with his autograph and a good luck to my dad. All in ink pen. The second photo is of the car staged in front of the tower at a drag strip ready to launch. I am assuming this drag strip was in California. Great photo of the car. On the back of both photos it tells the history of the car and Hayden.

After all these years I am going to frame these photos. If you like I would try to copy these and send you a copy.

3. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

Toms in Orange,CA and will return home in a few days. He'll respond then.

Hap

4. Tom Strunk