1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Tips on high school coaching?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by BBman, Feb 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BBman

BBman Member

Anyone have any tips on coaching a high school trap team? I will be coaching a Junior team this year. While it is my first year coaching I feel I'm pretty knowledgeable when it comes to trap but just looking for those little tips/hints.

2. birdtracker

birdtracker Active Member

you will realize different kids respond to different coaching methods. One kid will absorb everything like a sponge, and another might only pickup one thing out of 4 you teach or show him. But most important from the very git go, safety has to be #1. No B.S.ing around. Birdtracker

3. hdskip

hdskip Member

Several suggestions from a teacher. Establish yourself as the leader immediately. Make it interesting and fun for the kids. Safety is non-nogiatable. I teach machine shop to high schoolers and coaching a trap team requires constant vigilance for safety perhaps more than what I teach. One thing in your favor is the fact that most of your athletes will be there because they want to be there. This fact helps in the coaching/teaching process. I applaud you for your willingness to spend your time with these young people. ( I'm sure the pay isn't great LOL ) It could be one of the most rewarding things you've ever done. It is for me. Keep us posted on how it goes.
    Inquring minds want to know!!!!! LOL

Gary Cline

4. acss

acss Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

if you have time-- call me later today-- i wud love to visit with you! i built a gunclub for this reason-- i can help you, but cant type it all!!! wally riebesell 660-744-4115 rock port mo

5. Bruce Specht

Bruce Specht Well-Known Member