1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Three/two hole measurements?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by kaboom, Aug 28, 2013.

1. kaboom

kaboom TS Member

I am studying the field layout on page 56 of the rule book and cannot find any reference to three hole and two hole measurements.

It says: BDEFGHB: AREA OF LEGITIMATE TARGET

and,

BEFGB: MOST DESIRABLE AREA IS WHICH TO THROW TARGET

Might the BDEFGHB be a three hole target or a straight from post one and five?

Might the BEFGB be a two hole targets or a straight from 1½ and 4½?

Thanks!

2. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

Yes, other than the insignificant change to something slightly better:

"Might the BEFGB be a two hole targets or a straight from 1 1/3 and 4 2/3?"

And the first is about the three-hole too.

The text you are looking for is on page 48 and reads:

"The 17 degree angle will appear to be a straight-away from a point 3 1/2
    feet to the right of post 1; the 17 degree angle will appear to be a straightaway
    from a point 3 1/2 feet to the left of post 5. This 17 degree angle
    refers to the flight line of the target from the house to 15 or 20 yards out
    and can be used for singles, handicap, and doubles targets."

Neil

3. 320090T

320090T Well-Known Member

This is interesting. At the CC last week I observed straight-a-ways from 1 and 5 thinking they were two hole targets when actually they were somewhat stronger, but still legal.

4. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

320090T, I think this one covers that today.

BDEFGHB: AREA OF LEGITIMATE TARGET

HAP

5. mkstephen

mkstephen Active Member

320090T,

The straight-away you observed from station one and five were 3 hole targets.

mkstephen

6. Neil Winston