1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on increasing ATA shooters

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by smsnyder, Feb 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smsnyder

smsnyder Well-Known Member

I have been shooting since 1992. I have seen a steady and growing decline in ATA shooters. Some of it is normal and some due to high cost of shooting. Higher gas, prices, Higher health insurance, Higher lead prices all effect our sport. But i do see other things i think can increase shooters. I think we need to create more classes in the 16 yard groups. Expert class, Super Senior class, E class or even F class. There are far to many high scores in the lower classes. Yardage groups need changed. Every shoot i go to its 19 to 21 yardage,22/23, 24/25, 26/27 . Let's turn the tables, 19/20 yards, 21/22 yards 23/24 yards. 25-26-27 yardage groups. You say that's not fair? Neither is the 19 to 21 yardage group . The short yarder has three times the competition factor. Why not move the competition factor back to the 25-26-27 yarders were it belongs. I believe that short yarders and B,C,D Shooters are the majority who spend the money that's why something needs changed. My thoughts

2. nogunracks

nogunracks TS Member

I go along with you on more classes and different yardage groups the only problem is how do you keep the cheaters out of the lower classes if all classes pay the same. from what i have seen the lower classes are mostly newer shooters so why not give them a nice trophy instead of a money prize. the question i have is adding these classes isnt that going to add to the cost of shooting the money for these prizes has to come from some where just my two cents Earl F.

3. pendennis

pendennis Well-Known Member