1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Thompson Center Encore Shotgun Experience?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by srk147, Apr 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. srk147

srk147 TS Member

I already have an Encore frame with a 223 barrel and like it very much, feels very well balanced for me and shoots 1/2 inch groups.

I am wondering if anyone has experience with an Encore with shotgun barrels? I am just getting into trap shooting for the first time and was thinking of getting a 12 or 20 gauge for trap shooting.

Any thoughts?

Scott

2. Phil E

Phil E TS Member

Scott, I'd think if it fits you well and if you can get its weight up to 8-9 pounds it should work OK for awhile. The big factor without a large weight increase will be the recoil. Peak recoil force roughly equates to "Power Factor" of bullet weight in grains times velocity in fps. A .223 has about the power factor of a .38 Super or .40 S&W handgun, which is maybe 1/2-1/3 the power of a 20 GA shotgun (the 20-GA approximates a light .45-70 load in recoil.) It'll work, but long term I'd suspect it'd keep you from shooting well? Phil E

3. maltzahn

maltzahn Active Member

I have an Encore with 3 different barrels. One of which is a rifled 12 ga. barrel that will shoot 2 inch groups at 100 yards with the right slug combo. To put a 12 ga. vet rib barrel on, for shooting trap would not be a smart move. Recoil has already been addressed, but between the short frame and the short barrels offered from TC, the sighting plane distance would be remain an issue. This stock and barrel combo would also represent a low POI shooter, based on the field height flat rib, and a non-adjustable comb.