1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

The light finally came on

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by ec90t, Nov 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ec90t

ec90t Guest

I've been fighting a static problem, for the last month or so, while reloading shells. The only thing that had changed, or so I thought, was the loader I was using.

I have recently acquired a couple of 366's and started reloading my shells on them instead of the Mec's that I'd been using for years. While I have reloaded thousands of 12ga shells, I am new to 20 ga reloading and had a hard time with powder migration on my 20ga hulls. I did my usual trick on graphiteing the powder tube, rolling shot inside them to cut down on the static charge. I still had a problem. I wasn't having problems with my 12ga though. I did however narrow the problem down to my hulls carring the static charge and not the loader or componets.

Well, while sitting down this fine mornin' and drinking a cup of coffee, it dawned on me what my problem was. Storage! I have always kept my 12ga hulls in fabric style hampers to keep them seperated. When I started to collect 20ga hulls, I just seperated them into different 5 gal plastic buckets. This is where my static problem lies. The plastic builds up the static charge in the hulls and the fabric lets it disapate.

Those of you storing hulls in a plastic container should remove them from said container and put them in a cardboard box or fabric style container to disapate the static charge. It seems as if the longer the hull resides in the plastic container, the worse the problem is. If you reload your hulls in a quick manor, after firing, the problem doesn't seem to exsist. A couple of months of storage is all it seems to create this problem on 20 ga hulls.