1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

TELL me about a PW-900

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Longhorn, Sep 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longhorn

Longhorn Member

I have an opportunity to purchase a PW-900 for $400. The unit needs to be cleaned up and adjusted but appears to be in good shape. I'm a rookie using PW reloaders. Any comments, suggestions or advice?

2. redbone99

redbone99 Member

I believe the PW progressive I had was 900 sizeomatic or something like that. You could not remove shells from stations. When it worked good, it was super. But when you had a jam or other problem it was a real pain to clear. Some of their press's can be updated with a turret so shells can be removed at each station,mine could not. I'll stick with the Mec's Dave

3. joe blow

joe blow TS Member

I've had a number of PW's. A 900 for about seven years. Works great. Loaded shells look like new ones. Mine has a die removal. You can take one out at a time. Works a little different than the 800. $400 is a fair price. Progressive presses are a little harder to learn. Just take your time. Read the manual. Once you get the hang of it the shells will come flying out.

4. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

I own 4: 2 on active duty and 2 on R&R.

They are great loaders but they will not tolerate sloppy use or inattention. Read the manual and never back up a P-W. The introduction of the removable die turret was one of the best things P-W has done because it makes clearing mistakes much easier.

Do you happen to know its age? My newest one (#109XX) is a 1991 model (according to P-W) that I purchased 3 years ago for $400. I replaced the turret and the primer assembly with the new styles on both the duty units.