1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

T8 or T12 Fluorescent lights?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by dale58, Apr 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dale58

dale58 Well-Known Member

Hey guys I have a dozen T12 4ft. bulbs and went looking to buy a new fixture and couldn't find one anywhere. Three Home Depots and one Lowes. They all had plenty of T8 fixtures but I wanted a T12 cause I have a surplus of bulbs. Are they not making the T12's anymore? Also which one is brighter? thanks, Dale P.S. I don't know anything about electricity.

2. no powder

no powder Member

Switch over to t8 as you soon will not be able to purchase t12 lamps. I am an industrial electrician and am currently having trouble getting t12 lamps. If you really want to stay up to date go to t5.

3. no powder

no powder Member

Also t8's are brighter but t5's are brighter yet.

4. RJG53

RJG53 TS Member

The DOE banned the production of T-12 ballasts in 2010 and banned the production of T-12 Tubes July 2012. You can get a conversion kit to change out the T-12 ballasts and tubes to T-8s. Your T-12 tubes are now a valued commodity and if you can find them any where, they are selling for $10+ vs $1.00 less than one year ago. T-8 tubes are indeed brighter and in many cases when installing a retrofit kit you may want to reduce the number of tubes in the fixture to maintain the same lumens.

5. dale58

dale58 Well-Known Member

Thanks guys, guess I'll be getting a T8 fixture for the reloading area of the basement and use those T12 bulbs in the laundry room. thanks again, Dale

6. joneseboy

joneseboy Member

I'm also an industerial electrician and agree with nopower. Go T8's or better yet T5's. T5 cost more but uses half the amount of electric and much britter.