1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Switching to two eyes...Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Lovemy99, Mar 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lovemy99

Lovemy99 Member

I have been shooting with one eye closed now for 30+ years. Just the way I was trained and have never thought about changing...until now. I have diabetes and have been recently diagnosed with Diabetic Retinopathy, which causes blood vessels to burst in my retinas. This requires laser surgery to clean them up.

I have begun to notice a change in my shooting. It seems that I am having a little trouble picking up the bird out of the house and getting on it as quickly as I used to. This is putting a strain on my right eye, I think, as it is the one doing all of the work. I start off strong in singles, but the last 25 give me fits, as my right eye starts to "give out" somewhat.

My solution..switch to both eyes open. Any thoughts on helping to make this transition smoother and easier? I shot 4 rounds this weekend in practice using two eyes and was 4-5 birds off my normal average/round, which is frustrating. I have about 10 weeks until the SC State Shoot. I want to be ready for that. Any advice is appreciated.

Scott

2. Rich219

Rich219 Active Member

Switching to two eyes was the best thing I've ever done. One day I just decided I was going to do it and never went back to shooting one eye. The first week or two was rough but after about 6-8 weeks I'm shooting as well as I was with one eye and I no longer have trouble seeing the bird like I often did when using one eye. I also feel like I'm getting on and breaking the bird much quicker.

3. Lou Tenant

Lou Tenant Active Member

I found it easier with two eyes, and I won't go back

4. pigkiller

pigkiller Member