1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Switching From Red Dot To Green Dot<Questions

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by maclellan1911, Oct 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

I tried and like this recipe, I used it up and went back to clays.

2. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

not working to well.... 1oz 7.5, rem 209, tgt12 wad, 20grains green dot 1200fps sts hulls.

3. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

Drew, I have been using Green Dot since 1964 it works for me - inkballs targets and is easy on recoil. I use 20 gr for long yardage Handicap and about 18.3 gr for Singles. These are on the Alliant website for 1200 ft/sec and 1145 ft/sec.

4. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

GD for the 1-1/8 ounce loads and RD or other faster powders for 1 or 7/8ths ounce is the way I see it working best. Hap

5. phirel

phirel TS Member

I agree with Hap. Both Red Dot and Green Dot are great powders. But, if you believe the slower Green Dot will reduce your felt recoil, go for it.

Pat Ireland

6. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

Personally, I prefer to keep pressures a little lower than you get using Red Dot for 1200fps 1 1/8oz loads.

With the component choices you've listed I'd recommend STS hull, W209 primer, 20gr Green Dot, Windjammer wad and 1 1/8oz hard shot for 1200fps. That puts you right in the sweet spot for Green Dot. Drop the charge to 19.1gr for 1150fps. I would not use the Winchester wad.

7. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

I am color blimd to red and green. Will this cause a problem? Also , more 100's in trap have been fired with red dot than any other powder. HMB

8. Michael Jobe

Michael Jobe TS Member