1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions for 28ga field gun?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by smc968, Aug 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smc968

smc968 Member

Hi there,

I'm hoping I might get some suggestions from the folks out there on what would be options for a good, reasonably priced, 28ga o/u or s/s field fun (for upland game).

I'm looking for something used but in good condition. I have a lot of experience with all sorts of 12ga, but not so much with the smaller gauges.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Steve

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

I know you specified O/U or SxS but Remington's small frame M1100 is about as sweet of a light field gun as there is. Something to consider anyway and it does fit the criteria of being reasonably priced. You don't need to make a fashion statement in the field - just have good equipment that works well.

3. shotgunner50

shotgunner50 Member

Steve,

You can look at a Huglu 103D or 103C. I purchased one 6 months ago in

410 and have been very pleased. It is not equal to my Brownings but close and yo

u can purchase a new one for approx 800 to 850. Look at TR imports out of Texas

website. Hope this helps.

Marcus/ Shotgunner 50

4. sterlingworth

sterlingworth Active Member

why would you want a 28ga? have you priced a box of shells for them? I have a twenty and 28 ga and i can find loads for the 20 easier that will match the performance of the 28,and get more power when needed.Also it wont break the bank if i want to shoot a few rounds of skeet with it.Just consider all your options first.

5. Tron

Tron Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

Franchi 48AL is a real nice little gun worth looking into.

6. grnberetcj

grnberetcj Active Member