1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Stupid Lewis class question

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by 5screw, Jun 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 5screw

5screw TS Member

Ok, here is a stupid question that has arisen at the local trap club. although I have been playing Lewis class options for 30 years I don't really know how it works. There are two schools of thought here and they are:

Example: There are 40 shooters and 10 shooters per class. Top scores are

88 Counting down 10 scores the tenth score is 92. Now the other theory is that
    each score is only counted once and that would mean only one 100 and one 99
    etc. That would make the 10th score 89. I have seen only the first method
    in printed rules. That makes the most sense EXCEPT what happens if you have
    the first 12 scores all of 100's How would the second class be determined?
    That's why the second method is being proposed. What's the answer?

Bob

2. C1

C1 Member

LEWIS CLASS PURSES
    When all the shooting has been completed, the
    scores are listed in numerical order from the highest to
    the lowest. They are then divided into as many groups
    as there are classes. For example, if there were 30
    entries and 5 classes, (the use of 5 classes is only an
    example) there would be 6 scores in each class. The
    highest score in each class would then be a winner.
    Since there will often be odd numbers of entries and tie
    scores on the dividing line between the classes, the
    following rules have been established.
    1. Where a short class is necessary, due to odd entry
    list, the short class or classes shall head the list.
    2. Where the line of division falls in a number of tie
    scores, the contestants are assigned to the class in