1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

STS or AA hulls?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by kiv-c, Feb 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kiv-c

kiv-c Member

Which will I get the most reloads out of, STS or old-style AA's?

Kiv

2. phirel

phirel TS Member

I think one would find little difference in the number of reloads between these two fine hulls. Most responders will say they prefer STS hulls. I use AA hulls because I have so many. I do like the color of both hulls and during the Christmas season it would be nice to shoot both red and green hulls.

Pat Ireland

3. Jim In FL

Jim In FL Member

kiv-c, not trying to hi-jack your thread, but on a related note...

I'm pretty new to reloading with my mec jr. I've been using STS hulls. If I were to come across a bunch of AAs, would I have to change my press adjustments at all to load them ? Almost hate to change my press any, it's working so well with the STS.

Jim In FL

4. ks5shooter

ks5shooter Member

Dont have to adjust my Spolar to change over to AA's from STS's.

5. HC_John

HC_John TS Member

When I bought my MEC 650, the guy had it set for AA shells, I only adjusted for no pressure on the wad, but that may have been different between the powder and wads that he used to what I used.

John MI

6. kiv-c

kiv-c Member

Jim,
    I'm told that the STS hull loads (adjustment-wise, anyway) identically to the AA.

That being said, however, I did have to make a few crimp adjustments when switching between the old-style AA hull and the new HS version.

Kiv

7. highflyer

highflyer TS Member