1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Straight vs Monte Carlo Stocks

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by phirel, Oct 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phirel

phirel TS Member

The Monte Carlo allows one to keep his head more upright position. The same thing can be done by dropping the recoil pad with an adjustable butt plate.

Pat Ireland

2. Franktri

Franktri Member

I'm no expert but I think the Monte Carlo stock will make you shoot below the target and is especially needed in target shooting. However, depending on the fit, one can or cannot benefit from a MC stock vs a regular stock. I do notice that some of the recent BT-99 guns do NOT have a MC stock, so I don't quite know if I'm correct or not..

3. Model Number 12

Model Number 12 TS Member

My M12 trap gun and my M70 rifle that I hunt with (among others) both have Monte Carlos. Pat I. is right about keeping your head upright and it's something I really prefer. Given a choice, I'll take a Monte Carlo stock, especially one in nice walnut.

4. Drew Hause

Drew Hause Well-Known Member

Feb. 11, 1893 Sporting Life

MODIFIED GUN STOCK. "Something New From England Which Isn't Popular"

A representative English gun firm recently devised a new gun stock which is quite a novelty, but not likely to find favor with many sportsmen. The firm terms the new stock a "modified stock." This stock, while retaining the extreme drop at the butt, has a parallel bend along the face line from the comb to five or six inches back, giving the same alignment at any point between these limits, subject in some cases to slight modifications.