1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

STOS Change in Formula????

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by pedagogue, Sep 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pedagogue

pedagogue Member

I purchased a jar of STOS at the Grand from Gamaliel. Today I opened the jar and the grease is white in color. In the past STOS grease was always clear/translucent. Did they change the formula or did I get ripped off??? I always liked a clear product, I may have to go back to Super Lube. jack melitsky

2. rhymeswithorange

rhymeswithorange Member

Funny, i got some at the Grand and mine looked darker than what I already had.

3. Didreckson

Didreckson Active Member

I am no expert, but I was told the color changed "a while back" when I questioned the factory. New loader showed up with white all over it. Thought it very odd they would use something other than STOS on a new PW loader.

I did really like the clear STOS, still have a couple of jars and syringes. When it is gone, I will probably change to another product as well.

4. JerseyJohn

JerseyJohn TS Member

It's probably no good. You should give it to your son......for free.

5. MKillian

MKillian TS Member

Why not call Bruce at P-W and ask him?

Mike Killian

6. philk

philk Member

Are they just repackaging white lithium grease and quadrupeling the price ????

7. MKillian

MKillian TS Member

According to Bruce at P-W (yes, I called him), the formulation of STOS has not changed; it's exactly the same as the gold stuff. The color comes from a white pigment that's been added. He didn't know why it was added but there was obviously a good reason... maybe P-W's or maybe the supplier's.

Mike

8. W.P.T.

W.P.T. TS Member