1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Storing reloads in a unheated garage.....

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by likes-to-shoot, Nov 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. likes-to-shoot

likes-to-shoot Well-Known Member

We've been down this road before but for the benefit of new posters has anyone ever had any problems storing reloaded shells in a unheated garage?

I reload with Clays and Clays Universal and have had no issues shooting them year around or with storing them in a unheated garage here in Iowa.

2. Catpower

Catpower Molon Labe TS Supporters

Hope there are no issues with it, I've been doing it for about 50 years

Haven't had any problems, and a few of those years were in NW Iowa and the rest in Texas where we do get warm humid air following a cold snap and the is some condensation as in tractors dripping water off them, but no problems with the ammo, both shotgun and centerfire rifle

3. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

I never had any problems either until I made up some loads with Green Dot and STS primers. Then I did get a feww bloopers. The problem went away when the ammo warmed up. A hotter primer would have probably prevented the cold weather bloopers with that load.

4. shot410ga

shot410ga Well-Known Member

Bring a weeks supply into the house. It takes a few days to warm them up to room temperatures. I had bloopers when I left GD loads out in the in my unheated workshop.

5. Nutso

Nutso Member

I've left reloads in my truck for weeks in Wisconsin, in the winter, and never had a problem, even .410 shells. never used green dot though. Usually the problem with cold shells comes from the wad shrinking in the hull creating a poor seal for the powder.

Tim

6. timberfaller

timberfaller Well-Known Member