1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Stock fitting and being a shooting coach

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by tcouch, Oct 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tcouch

tcouch Member

I have been shooting trap and skeet on and off for 10 years or so. None of my guns have fit and most of them leave my cheek swollen. Lately I have been on a mission to get my guns to fit, and it’s become a very enjoyable hobby to learn about stock fitting. I would like to learn more about it so I can help others, because I know of frustrating it can be. Are there any stock fitters out there? How did you learn? I have learned a so much try trying different pitch spacers, adjustable combs settings, changing LOP all that fun stuff.

Another thing I would like to learn is how to teach people to shoot. I enjoy this sport so much and I would like to share that with others. I don’t want to teach or show others without knowing the correct way. Are there classes or seminars available?

I see so many shooters at the range with horrible form and guns that don’t fit, and I want to help. I don’t want to make things worse by giving them the wrong information.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Tim

2. gun fitter

gun fitter TS Member

Good Question! Most are self taught after attaining a certain level of proficiency.