1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Stihl MS 440 Magnum Recommendation

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by FIB, Aug 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FIB

FIB Member

I'm thinking of upgrading from my Stihl Farm Boss to a MS 440 Magnum. I want to buy a chain saw essentially that will last and do the work I need to do. I only use a chain saw after a storm or to occasionally help cut wood for the Boy Scouts so I'm not a professional. The saw would be used 3-6 times a year. The 440 was recommended to me by a knowledgable friend. He said it might be a little "over kill" for my needs but at least I'd never be "under gunned". Do any of you guys have the 440 and have you been pleased with it?

Regards, Randy

2. STOS

STOS Member

Randy i have 2 044 older models and they are the best saws i have ever owned.I have 24" bars on mine but they will handle 28" no problem.Bruce

3. FIB

FIB Member

Thanks for the reply Bruce. I would probably just use a 20" bar.

4. TRAINWRECK

TRAINWRECK TS Member

I have both saws and my farm boss is 20 yrs old that has been used a lot and its still going strong. Stay with the farm boss on the 20" bar. The 44 may crank to fast and start loading up with the 20" bar unless you keep it in large hard woods. The 44 is a great saw when used for falling, tipping and limbing large hard wood trees and is at it best in 20" dia and up. As STOS stated the 44 is a great saw but it is a logging saw that is made to work large trees.

You may just want to buy another farm boss. Nothing like having a second saw when you need it.

5. CalvinMD

CalvinMD Well-Known Member

I think a 440 Magnum is overkill for a chainsaw...a slant six is more than enough

6. timberfaller

timberfaller Well-Known Member