1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

STI pistol price???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Orange Irish, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Orange Irish

Orange Irish TS Member

A guy I shoot trap with also shoots IPSEC (?). He bought an STI 40 cal. 1911 single stack to use. He has decided to go with a higher capacity gun as the reloads slow him down and wants to sell this gun. I do not know the model of this gun at this time. It has less that 500 rounds through it, 6 nine round mags, an after market front sight (don't remember what kind), ambi safety, and cocoa hard wood grips. He offered it to me for $700. Seems like a good price to me, but I'm no expert. I have always wanted a 1911 style gun and this could be it. Any one have an idea?

Thanks,
    Eddie

2. quartering

quartering Active Member

it depends on the model: a tactical sells for $1700. a spartan sells for $600. which model is it?

3. Orange Irish

Orange Irish TS Member

quartering, thanks for the response. At this time I don't know. I will know more next week. He said its about $1000 total with the mags, sight, wood grips, etc, etc.

4. ccw1911

ccw1911 Member

It sounds like a Spartan, if so it's a decent deal with the extras. Be aware that 1911's in 40 caliber can be very picky about ammunition, it's not uncommon to have to use reloads that are longer than factory ammo to get good reliability.

5. Orange Irish

Orange Irish TS Member

ccw1911, thanks for the response, and advise. He mentioned that the mags are 10mm so that he could shoot reloads that were longer than standard .40 shells. Now I understand.
    Eddie

6. rjstubbl

rjstubbl Member