1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Steel Shot/Full Chokes/Model12

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Shipbuilder, Oct 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shipbuilder

Shipbuilder TS Member

Has anyone experienced damage from steel shot in a Full Choke model 12? I have been shooting steel in a Modified 870 Remington for 30 years with no problems. Not sure wheter to try on a Full Choked Model 12 or not.

Jim

2. PerazziBigBore

PerazziBigBore TS Member

Depends on how full is full.. .028 or tighter..I would not go there.. I've seen some do OK.. and I've seen damaged barrels.. Personally.. .020 would be my MAX... but your gun.. I tried to tell many.. screw chokes..or a junk barrel are your friends with steel shot.. Only the BP LBC wad would I shoot in a FULL choke barrel..and unslit..
    I forget the name of a fellow shooter here who has extensive work with steel... Everyone saw his picture with the racoon hanging off his barrel..Bought a Mach1.. made a really high rib 870??? pump..with a scope on it.. Help please.. He has ALOT of data.. All Good.. Mike

3. Jawhawker

Jawhawker TS Member

I believe Mike is referring to ole Joe Kuhn about the data.

Some of those ole MD12's were pretty tight and the barrel steel is thin. Also you didn't say how large of steel your going to put through it. That makes a BIG difference.

4. Shipbuilder

Shipbuilder TS Member

Thinking about 2 3/4 steel 2s or 4s through a full 3" Duck Gun.

5. Bob Hawkes

Bob Hawkes Well-Known Member

You will find that a lot of those guns are in the .040 area for choke. I'd choke tube it like Mike suggests. Good luck, Bob

6. joe kuhn

joe kuhn Furry Lives Matter TS Supporters