1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

" STAN BAKER " BARRELS

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by soup, Dec 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. soup

soup Member

FOLKS ,

I'm new to trap shooting & have a chance to purchase a Stan Baker barrel for an 1187 . Can anyone enlighten me about them ? Why they are special & who this gentleman was.

Thank you and happy New Year to all .

SOUP
  2. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

If you can buy it for under $500 do it. $350 is a good buy but depending on wxactly what it is - it could be worth $500. High rib, big bore, what tubes etc. If it is a true baker it will be stamped so. Stan has passed away. He was a very well known barrel maker in Seattle
  3. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

If it's a Baker Big Bore it will shoot fine, but probably not for you if you are new to trapshooting as you say. Time and money are better spent finding out what you have now: where it shoots, and how it works. There are many, many times as many dead birds in those variables as in any barrel, any tuning, any magic. (WPT's magic rocks excluded, of course.)

Neil
  4. soup

soup Member

5. soup

soup Member

6. Big Heap

Big Heap TS Member

The question is what did Stan (RIP) do to the barrel to make it special? I don't know.
  7. KooJo

KooJo Member

Stan Baker was one of the first gunsmiths to "Back Bore" shotgun barrels and maybe also the first one to do after market "Choke Tubes". He made a "Big Bore" shotgun barrel that 12ga chamber with a 10ga bore, How it did for trapshooting, I do not know. I did go to his shop in Seattle one time, and talk to him about shotgun barrels.The old "Shotgun Sports" magazines has articles that he wrote about shotguns and barrels.
  8. chuckles

chuckles Member