1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Sporting Guns

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jhurstkc, Apr 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jhurstkc

jhurstkc TS Member

I am in the market for a sporting clay gun. I trapshoot weekly with a Browning BT 99 32" barrel which I have become very comfortable with. I have no real experience buying a new target gun but wish to have a gun that would allow me to shoot doubles trap, skeet, or sporting clays so I need an over/under or semi-auto. I will continue to shoot my BT99 for trap. My questions are:

1. Is it realistic that a sporting gun could be a one gun fits all categories (skeet, doubles trap, and sporting clays)?
    2. For the amount of $ new guns cost, are there any opportunities to shoot new guns before you buy one?
    3. I live in Kansas City, MO and having a hard time finding anyone that carries multiple sporting guns by Browning and Beretta. Any suggestions on a dealer that has good in-stock selection to view?
    4. Since I shoot a Browning, is there any reason to be concerned that buying a Berretta and shooting that gun often would affect my success with my Browning?

Thanks in advance to anyone that takes the time to respond. Sincerely appreciate your input and I really enjoy this website.

Sincerely,
    Jeff

2. Borderland

Borderland Member

Jeff.. James Wayne firearms in Victoria, Tx has good prices on the now discontinued Winchester(FN built) Select Energy sporting OUs and they are still supported and serviced by Winchester(Browning). Jaquas has a very good price on a couple of 28" Citori Special Sporting(used) on their website. Either of these guns would be a good choice to begin 5 stand or Sporting clays without a lot of investment in case you dont like it.
    Ken

3. andybull