1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Spolar Question?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by shootintom, Feb 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shootintom

    shootintom TS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    I'm wondering if anyone else has run into this with their Spolar? Just recently I noticed that the shot tube keeps coming loose and on closer inspection it seems that the tube has shrunk. The threads are not stripped out on the tube or the aluminum, I looked at the threads under a magnifying loupe and they appear perfect. I called Spolar and spoke to Dixie and they've never run into it before and offered to send me another at a reduced cost! It wasn't a lot of money but just the principle of it. Anyway, I can wrap a little teflon plumbers tape around it to keep it snug but just wondered if anyone else had this problem.

    Tom
     
  2. stingray44130

    stingray44130 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Yes mine were about ten yeas old I think it was the vibration from going up and down how old and how many rounds
     
  3. rennerize

    rennerize Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,926
    I am surprised that Spolar would charge you for it, since they are supposed to have the best customer service.
    Don
     
  4. $$$SHTR

    $$$SHTR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    756
    Mine also!! I now check it for tightness each time before I fill with shot. Thought it was just my imagination. Shouldn't have to use plumbers tape on a $1600 loader though. I'm also surprised Spolar would charge for a fix.

    Tomas
     
  5. shootintom

    shootintom TS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    I guess that when I talked to Dixie yesterday that I have just been spoiled by the Dillon loaders that I've owned over the years. I've had all but the XL650 and when a problem popped up it was just a matter of a phone call and the part was on the way at no cost. They even replaced the main shaft on my 1050 once and this is the only thing that they only warranty for a year or 2 now!

    OK - Rant mode off!

    Tom
     
  6. gundog

    gundog TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    136
    Teflon tape repair on a loader that cost that much, what joke. I have not had that problem on my Spolar i just cant keep wad fingers on mine for any period of time.
     
  7. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17,173
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    Hmmm. No Teflon tape on my 366 but it only cost me $150 a couple of years ago. Guess i'll have to ditch the old Pacific for a high dollar machine. :)

    Matt
     
  8. likes-to-shoot

    likes-to-shoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,087
    Location:
    Iowa
    LOL you see these guys hijack a P/W thread and say the Spolar is the best with absolutely no problems. I don't care what kind of a machine it is there is always something that needs tweeked every now and then.
     
  9. skeeljc

    skeeljc Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Location:
    Terre Haute Indiana
    A better fix would be epoxy. It will not come loose again!

    Jim Skeel
     
  10. Mark Gadbois

    Mark Gadbois Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    64
    For Pulldude regarding the wad fingers - I have found that trimming about 1/16 inch off the fingers greatly reduces the chance that they're caught by the hull and thus broken. Regarding the original problem - my shot fill tube is also held in by a set screw. You guys have yours in place? Now not to hijack a thread, but any of you have a problem with the bushings for the smaller gauges being too tight and, if so, have you found a cure? Receive any assistance from Spolar? I have a very early machine.
     
  11. gundog

    gundog TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    136
    Thanks Mr. Gadbois i will try that.
     
  12. shootintom

    shootintom TS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    pulldude - in reference to your wad fingers you may want to adjust the wad holder just a little higher so that it clears the top of the case. I had to adjust mine when I first got it and still have some of the original fingers.

    To you guys with the 366's, if that's what you like that's great, I purchased my Spolar because I load 4 gauges and it's faster changing a Spolar than it is to mount and unmount a MEC. And I won't even get into a discussion on the 2 PW's I owned. Like I said, the Spolar is the best I've ever used and the quality is top notch but I just didn't receive that customer satisfaction that I thought went along with this problem since I felt it was a manufacturing problem.

    Tom
     
  13. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17,173
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    Take it easy fellas. The comment about my Pacific DL366 was a joke. Nothing more. You are loading on the Ferrari of loaders. Doesn't everybody dream of a Ferrari? Poor saps like me do anyway.

    Matt
     
  14. BILL GRILL

    BILL GRILL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3,764
    I bought a new spolar and did go back to my 366. Gave the spolar to the kid. Hard to teach a ol dog new tricks. Nothing wrong with the spolar just too used to the 366. Bill
     
  15. skeeljc

    skeeljc Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Location:
    Terre Haute Indiana
    I am with you Bill. I load 20, 28 and .410 on my 800 Plus with the Auto-Drive but still load my 12's on a Hornady 366. I have a 900 that I use for Federal papers.

    Jim Skeel
     
  16. $$$SHTR

    $$$SHTR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    756
    Speaking of 366's, I have one that I use just as much as the Spolar. Used shot in the 366, new in the Spolar. I set the 366 up for one type of hull and only load that hull on that loader. The Spolar is much easier to load different type of hulls. As a matter-of-fact, I can run any type hull in the Spolar without any adjustments at all, none. I've had the 366 for over 12 years and the Spolar over 4 and have zero problems (other than the shot tube unthreading a little from time to time and a broken spring on the 366 ( which Hornady sent me a replacement absolutely free, including shipping). Both are great loaders. Don't ask about my experience with a PW.

    Tomas
     
  17. oleolliedawg

    oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,124
    Location:
    Northampton PA
    Look for the obvious first-operator error. The lock nut is loose. Instead of screwing the lock nut up toward the frame do the opposite-lock it against the drop tube-(down). Please loosen the little allen head screw in the frame first. Tighten the lock nut with an oversize open ended wrench then tighten the allen screw. See, wasn't that easy!!
     
  18. $$$SHTR

    $$$SHTR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    756
    Sorry Oleolliedawg, none of that stuff on my Spolar. What loader were you referring to??

    Tomas
     
  19. doberman37

    doberman37 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    My shot tube came loose a couple of times so I put lock tite on it. No more problems for eight or nine years now.
     
  20. oleolliedawg

    oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,124
    Location:
    Northampton PA
    Spolar. I have two!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

whats the cost of a spolar replacement shot tube