1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Sorting shot from powder

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by twotimer, Nov 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twotimer

twotimer Member

I don't know if anyone else has ever forgot to put a wad in when reloading. Who has the best trick for sorting the powder from the shot? Thanks, Mike

2. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

Mike, I have never done this before in my life ever. LOL Just use a nice metal colander from the Kitchen. Don't let the wife see you use her good one. LOL. Depending on how fine it is, it will even work on #9's on up. Good to go. Break-em all. Jeff

3. Sprinklerman

Sprinklerman Member

place the mess on a baking sheet elevate 1 end and tap shot will roll to the lower end leaving powder behind

4. phirel

phirel TS Member

Mike- Separating the shot and powder from one shell is not worth the effort. But, if you must, Sprinklerman did provide a way to do it.

Pat Ireland

5. SMITH47

SMITH47 Member

the same way i use to separate the seeds in a new bag of reefer !

6. scratcher

scratcher TS Member

Drop a match........

7. twotimer

twotimer Member

Sprinklerman, I do something similar now, I Like Jeffs' colandar idea. Can't believe I didn't think of that. Probably did, but the thought of getting caught made me forget quickly. I bet I could find a cheap one at a $1 store. Thanks, Mike

8. Neil Winston

Neil Winston Well-Known Member

(Deleted)

9. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

Neil, saltpeter in smokeless powder??????

This is all you need. 1 or 2 dollars.

Wayne

[​IMG]

10. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Here's what i use. A few bucks from Wal Mart. Shake it over a pan and it sorts for you. Then i load all the shot in my mixed shot loads for practice.

Matt
    [​IMG]